Author archives: timd

Sunday, 7th July 2019 - 23:17:36

IMG_20190707_231736.jpg

Today I got fed up with the coffee machine as it was not turning on when it should. I stripped the controller board except for the LED and the buttons so that it could be reused. I then added a Sonoff to it so that it could be turned on and off via MQTT or with the button.

Saturday, 18th May 2019 - 12:52:08

IMG_20190518_125208.jpg

The starter motor in the Barina died, so I had to replace it. Very difficult to reach! It's on the backside of the engine under the intake.

Sunday, 12th May 2019 - 15:31:11

IMG_20190512_153111.jpg

Firing up the HP DL585G7 to see what spec it is. 600W idle. 4 x 12 core opteron 6172s.

Sunday, 28th April 2019 - 16:21:45

IMG_20190428_162145.jpg

Attaching ears and securing the power supply on the SRX210H in the lab rack. I'm moviving it hot. It has 439 days of uptime.

Sunday, 28th April 2019 - 15:11:18

IMG_20190428_151118.jpg

Holding the patch cables out of the road so I can decommission the old EX3200 switch.

Monday, 15th April 2019 - 17:54:11

IMG_20190415_175411.jpg

Scored some rosemerry cuttings from my mate Cam

Sunday, 7th April 2019 - 15:49:54

IMG_20190407_154954.jpg

Scored a pair of SRX210H firewalls from eBay. One is PoE, the other standard. Updated and ready to go. They also came with the nifty ears that hold the power supply.

Saturday, 23rd March 2019 - 18:15:06

IMG_20190323_181506.jpg

Quiche Lorraine - yum. Should have made two =)

Tuesday, 5th March 2019 - 20:23:31

IMG_20190305_202331.jpg

20 gig aggregate for the server to the top of rack switch =)

Sunday, 3rd March 2019 - 16:29:25

IMG_20190303_162925.jpg

The BIAB brew stand is mostly complete. This is a mock up of brew day to see that everything fits. I added a loop to the fence so that the tarp could be secured.

Thursday, 28th February 2019 - 23:34:35

IMG_20190228_233435.jpg

Messing with these graphical displays, only problem is they use nearly all the IO on an ESP8266-12.

Monday, 11th February 2019 - 20:12:10

IMG_20190211_201210.jpg

Juniper EX4200 TOR (top of rack) switch and 10G upgrade for the lab!

Friday, 1st February 2019 - 14:52:56

IMG_20190201_145256.jpg

Working on a new BIAB brew stand. It's made from an old Dexion workbench and other scrap.

Tuesday, 29th January 2019 - 17:03:19

IMG_20190129_170319.jpg

I built some storage bins by recycling some MDF packaging.

Sunday, 27th January 2019 - 08:56:22

IMG_20190127_085622.jpg

Tried out a new water bath setup for slow cooking ribs. They turned out fantastic! The ribs sit on mesh trays which are sitting on baking trays with water in them.

Friday, 25th January 2019 - 16:14:23

IMG_20190125_161423.jpg

More delicate repairs on the TDS-540

Thursday, 24th January 2019 - 21:23:05

IMG_20190124_212305.jpg

Lasagne from scratch (including making pasta). Lots of hard work but delicious!

Wednesday, 23rd January 2019 - 18:32:46

IMG_20190123_183246.jpg

We made a shepherds pie with the leftover roast chicken and veggies. It was delicious.

Saturday, 19th January 2019 - 21:11:41

IMG_20190119_211141.jpg

Garden light #4 failed. It looks as though I fitted a 25V cap instead of a 35V cap on the rectified AC side of the power input and it got pretty unhappy.

Monday, 14th January 2019 - 15:01:28

IMG_20190114_150128.jpg

Started re-capping the board in the TDS-540 Oscilloscope. Hopefully this will allow it to pass the self-tests. This is a common issue with these scopes. A very tedious process though, but getting through it. The solder they used is pretty stubborn, so I've got the iron up at 350 celcius.